CHRS page rivières English

Missinaibi River

Missinaibi River - Photo

Top Geography

Top Natural Heritage

Top Human Heritage

Top Recreation

Top Visitor Information

Top Further Information

Top Additional Reading


Back to Missinaibi River Main Page

Situated in northeastern Ontario, the Missinaibi River flows northeasterly for 426 kilometres from the Abitibi Uplands north of Chapleau to its confluence with the Moose River in the James Bay Lowlands. It offers one of the longest, unimpeded stretches of wilderness river environments found in Ontario. Regulated as a provincial park by Ontario’s Ministry of Natural Resources in 1988, the Missinaibi was nominated to the Canadian Heritage Rivers System for its unspoiled scenic beauty, varied natural heritage features, its importance to the history of Canada’s development as a major fur trading route, and the potential it offers to visitors for an extended wilderness canoe and camping experience.

 

Although this part of Ontario may be reached quite easily by road, rail and air from major population centres in southern Ontario and neighboring U. S. states, the Missinaibi River itself has more limited access, a factor which has contributed to preserving its unspoiled nature. Its designation as a provincial park and its inclusion in the Canadian Heritage Rivers System are intended to ensure that experienced canoeists will be able to explore the Missinaibi ’s challenging white-water and wilderness scenery for many years to come.

Top Back to top

Geography

From its source at Missinaibi Lake, just 5 km north of the division between the Great Lakes and James Bay watersheds, 305 meters above sea level, the Missinaibi River crosses two major geographic regions – the Abitibi Uplands of the Precambrian Shield and the James Bay Lowlands. Its watershed covers an area of 86,500 hectares. The Missinaibi is especially significant in that it provides a link between Lake Superior, just over 100 km to the west via the Michipicoten River, and James Bay, 72 km east via the Moose River – a fact which accounted for its very important role in the 18th and early l9th century fur trade in Canada.

 

While there is some mining and logging activity in the general area of the Missinaibi, it is not visible to visitors exploring the river. Except for a few small villages and towns at the rail and road crossings at Peterbell and Mattice, the river corridor remains largely unchanged since its days as a fur trading route.

 

The southern, upstream reaches of the Missinaibi flow through major lakes – Missinaibi and Brunswick, and large wetlands at Hay River and Peterbell, while the river itself is here characterized by a relatively narrow channel with numerous rapids and falls. In its central and longer, more northerly reaches, the river is generally wider and the flow slower, except for the area around Thunderhouse Falls where the river flows swiftly as it drops through steep-walled gorges.

Top Back to top

Natural Heritage

With unspoiled nature all along its course, the Missinaibi offers visitors opportunities to explore the full breadth of natural heritage typical of northeastern Ontario. Its most notable features are:

 

Land and rock formations representing 2,500 million years of the evolution of the Canadian Shield;

evidence of Precambrian, Paleozoic, Mesezoic and Cenozoic eras, showing glaciation and the subsequent evolution of the river;

dramatic geological formations such as those at Thunderhouse and Split Rock Falls;

large mammals such as black bear and moose, and a small herd of elk at Missinaibi Lake, introduced to the area in 1933; and

the Peterbell string bog and marsh, habitat for a great number of interesting plant species, and for waterfowl, moose, otter, and other wildlife.

Top Back to top

Human Heritage

Missinaibi River - Photo

For 140 years spanning the 18th and early 19th centuries, the Missinaibi River, with its links to Lake Superior and James Bay, was one of the most important fur trading routes in Ontario. Used first by Indians travelling to Moose Factory on James Bay to trade, the Missinaibi later carried traders from the highly competitive fur trading companies, the Hudson’s Bay Company and North West Company. In the interior, trading posts were built at Wapiscogamy House (1776), Missinaibi House on Missinaibi Lake (1777), and at several locations on Brunswick Lake, starting with rival posts built in 1789 and 1796, respectively.

 

The fur trade along the Missinaibi continued until 1879, and the succession of Brunswick House posts served as a strategic centre for the fur trade throughout this entire period. The remains of Missinaibi House, a Hudson’s Bay post, are a focus of interest for archaeologists and visitors alike.

 

The fur trade declined in the early part of the 19th century as the demand for furs, such as beaver, fell in European markets. Later in the century, the area saw the completion of the Canadian National and Canadian Northern rail lines. With the arrival of settlers by train, villages and towns grew up along the rail corridors. More recently, the region was developed by the mining and lumber industries, activities which continue here today.

 

Long before Europeans arrived, the Missinaibi Lake area was inhabited by nomadic bands of Algonquin speaking people. Indian rock paintings called “pictographs” bear evidence to the region’s link with this pre-European past. The pictograph site at Fairy Point on Missinaibi Lake is considered one of the most important in Ontario.

Top Back to top

Recreation

The Missinaibi waterway provides fine opportunities for recreational activities such as lake and white-water canoeing, camping, wildlife viewing, and photography. Fishing for walleye and northern pike, lake sturgeon, smallmouth bass and brook trout is excellent on Missinaibi Lake and along the river.

 

Most of these activities may be enjoyed by those using the provincial park campground at Missinaibi Lake, which is accessible by way of an 88 km gravel road from Chapleau. The Missinaibi River itself, however, has only limited access and lacks facilities and services. These characteristics enhance the river’s wilderness appeal, but make it best suited to experienced travelers looking for a challenging, yet reasonably safe, wilderness canoe and camping trip.

Top Back to top

Visitor Information

Access: Several starting points are possible, depending upon the length of trip desired. Missinaibi Provincial Park campgrounds, at the head of the river, may be reached from Chapleau on Highway 101. The village of Missanabie may be reached via Highway 651 north from Highway 101. Via Rail passenger trains run three times weekly northwest from Capreol, crossing the river at Peterbell and the Ontario Northland Railway runs daily service from Moosonee to Cochrane, crossing the Moose River just below its confluence with the Missinaibi. The lowest possible starting point downriver – accessible by means other than float plane – is at Mattice, on the Trans-Canada Highway.

 

Accommodation and Services: Since this area is relatively remote, accommodation and services are limited. The village of Missanabie offers hotel accommodation and supplies. Camping facilities are available at Barclay Bay on Missinaibi Lake. Mattice has limited services and some overnight accommodation. No established campground or other facilities are available for canoeists leaving the Missinaibi at Moose River Crossing while waiting for the southbound train from Moosonee. However, fly-in and fly-out services are available, permitting shorter trips.

 

Canoeing: While the entire Missinaibi may be tackled by experienced canoeists, most approach it in two major sections. The upper Missinaibi River, from Missanabie village or Missinaibi Lake to Mattice is a 236 km route with 28 portages requiring 10–12 days. The longer Missinaibi, from Mattice to the Moose River rail crossing and on to Moosonee, is a 320 km route with 7–10 portages requiring 7–9 days. Detailed descriptions of these routes are available from the Ontario Ministry of Natural Resources.

 

Canoeing is good from June to September. Portages, which are clearly marked, vary in length and difficulty, and their locatians change with seasonally fluctuating water levels. The average gradient along the river is less than 1 m/km; however, canoeists wishing to tackle the Missinaibi should be experienced because the river has many difficult sections and numerous, changing portages. Camping spots are limited on some portions of the river. The lower waters of late summer provide additional camping sites on exposed river banks and sandbars, but also expose rocky shallows which must be portaged or lined. For the experienced to expert canoeist, the Missinaibi provides a challenging test of skill and endurance, particularly in June when water levels are higher.

Top Back to top

Further Information

Topographic Maps: The Missinaibi River is covered by 1:250,000 scale National Topographic Series Maps Foleyet (42B), Kapuskasing (42G), Smokey Falls (42J), Moose River (42I), and Moosanee (42P) – available from the Canada Map Office, 615 Booth Street, Ottawa ON K1A 0E9. 1:50,000 scale maps are available fram the Canada Map Office. The Public Information Centre, Ontario Ministry of Natural Resources (OMNR), Queen’s Park, Toronto can provide specialized canoe trip maps for the entire Missinaibi at the l:l00,000 scale.

 

Missinaibi Provincial Park – Services, Permits and Regulations: OMNR Chapleau District Office, 190- 192 Cherry St., Chapleau, ON P0M IK0 Tel. 705-864-1710; or, OMNR, Kapuskasing Area Office, 6- 8-1O Government Rd., Kapuskasing, ON P5N 2W4 Tel.705-335-6191, or visit www.ontarioparks.com/english/miss.html

 

Tourist Information - Accommodation & Visitor Services: “1991 Ontario Traveler’s Encyclopedia”, free from: Ontario Travel, Queen’s Park, Toronto, ON M7A 2E5; Cochrane-Timiskaming Travel Assoc., Box 1162 Timmins, ON P4N 7K9 or James Bay Frontier Travel Assoc., Suite ll9, lO1 Mall, Timmins, ON T4N 7H9; Ontario Northland Polar Bear Express Train, 65 Front Street West, Toronto, ON M5J 1P6, Phone: 416-965-4268.

 

Canadian Heritage Rivers System: National Manager, Canadian Heritage Rivers System, c/o Parks Canada, Ottawa, Canada K1A 0M5. Tel. 819-994-2913, Fax 819-997-0835. E-mail address: donald.gibson@pc.gc.ca or, Ontario Member, Canadian Heritage Rivers Board, c/o Director, Ontario Parks and Natural Heritage Areas, Queen’s Park, Toronto ON M7A 1W3.

 

Visit http://www.mnr.gov.on.ca/mnr/parks/miss.html for more information on this wild river and the Ontario Recreational Canoeing Association (www.orca.on.ca).

Top Back to top

Additional Reading

Harrington, L. “Canoe Country”. Canadian Geographical Journal. August, 1946.

 

Baldwin, D. & G. Taylor. “The Fur Trade in the Moose-Missinaibi River Valley: 1770-1917.” Research Report #8. Ont. Min. Culture & Recreation. 1975.

 

Newman, P. Company of Adventurers, 1985; Caesars of the Wilderness, 1987. Penguin Books.

 

Reid, R. J. Grand. “The Missinaibi”. In Canoeing Ontario’s Rivers. Douglas and McIntyre. 1988.

 

Harting, T. “Looking at Light”. Nastawgan. Journal of the Wilderness Canoe Association. Spring, 1989.

 

Reid, Ron. “Pictured Waters”. Seasons. Federation of Ontario Naturalists. Spring, 1990.

 

Wilson, Hap, Missinaibi: Journey to the Northern Sky, Canadian Recreational Canoeing Association, 1994. The definitive canoe guide to the historic trade route between Lake Superior and James Bay along the Michipicoten and Missinaibi Rivers. Provides historical background.

Top Back to top

CHRS page rivières Français

Rivière Missinaibi

Rivière Missinaibi - Photo

Top Géographie

Top Patrimoine naturel

Top Patrimoine culturel

Top Valeurs récréatives

Top Renseignements
pour les visiteurs

Top Autres renseignements

Top Lectures recommandées


Retour à la page principale de la rivière Missinaibi

Située dans le nord-est de l’Ontario la rivière Missinaibi s’étend en direction nord-est sur une distance de 426 kilomètres. Elle prend sa source près du lac Supérieur, dans les bas plateaux d’Abitibi, au nord de Chapleau, et se jette dans la rivière Moose qui traverse les basses-terres de la baie James. La Missinaibi est l’une des dernières rivières sauvages non endiguées de l’Ontario. Recommandée pour l’obtention du statut de parc provincial par le ministère des Richesses naturelles de l’Ontario en 1988, la Missinaibi a aussi été mise en candidature au Réseau de rivières du patrimoine canadien, pour sa beauté panoramique intacte, ses diverses caractéristiques naturelles, le rôle qu'elle a joué dans l’histoire du Canada comme importante route de traite des fourrures et pour la possibilité qu’elle offre aux visiteurs de vivre une expérience prolongée de canotage et de camping en milieu sauvage.

 

Bien que cette partie de l’Ontario soit assez facilement accessible par la route, le chemin de fer et la voie des airs à partir des grands centres urbains du sud de l’Ontario et des États américains voisins, il est plus difficile d’accéder à la Missinaibi elle-même, ce qui a sans doute contibué à la préserver relativement intacte. Sa future désignation comme parc provincial et sa mise en candidature comme « Rivière du patrimoine canadien », feront en sorte que les canoteurs expérimentés pourront en explorer les eaux tumultueuses et les paysages sauvages pour longtemps encore.

Géographie

Depuis sa source dans le lac Missinaibi, à seulement 5 km au nord de la limite entre le bassin hydrographique des Grands Lacs et celui de la baie James, la Missinaibi, à 305 m au-dessus du niveau de la mer, traverse deux importantes régions géographiques, soit les bas-plateaux d’Abitibi dans le Bouclier précambrien et les basses-terres de la baie James, et elle draine une superficie de 86 500 hectares. Ce qui confère à la Missinaibi une importance particulière, est le fait qu’elle constitue un lien entre le lac Supérieur, juste à 100 km à l’ouest via la rivière Michipicoten, et la baie James, à 72 km à l’est via la rivière Moose – d’où le rôle prédominant qu’elle a joué dans le commerce des fourrures au Canada au XVIIIe et XIXe siècles.

 

Même si l’on trouve dans la région des exploitations minières et forestières, elle ne sont pas perceptibles de la rivière. À l’exception de quelques petits villages établis aux carrefours routiers et ferroviaires – Peterbell et Mattice, la rivière a très peu changé depuis le XVIIIe siècle, où elle servait de route de traite de fourrures.

 

Le cours supérieur sud de la Missinaibi traverse des grands lacs – Missinaibi et Brunswick, et de larges tourbières à la rivière Hay et Peterbell, alors que la rivière elle-même est caractérisée par un chenal relativement étroit parsemé de chutes d’eau et de nombreux rapides. Le cours inférieur nord de la rivière est très différent de l’autre partie. Ici, le chenal est plus large et le cours est plus lent, à l’exception des chutes Thunderhouse, où la rivière se précipite dans les gorges aux parois escarpées.

Top Retour au début

Patrimoine naturel

La nature intacte qui borde cette rivière très longue offre aux visiteurs l’occasion d’explorer toute la gamme des caractéristiques naturelles typiques de cette partie du nord-est de l’Ontario. Ses traits les plus remarquables, sont :

 

des formations rocheuses et des terrains représentant 2 500 millions d’années d’évolution du Bouclier canadien depuis le début du précambrien;

des vestiges des ères précambrienne, paléozoïque, mésozoïque et cénozoïque montrant des glaciations et l’évolution postglaciaire de la rivière;

des formations géologiques spectaculaires, comme les chutes de Thunderhouse et de Split Rock;

de grands mammifères comme l’ours noir, l’orignal et un petit troupeau de wapitis, introduit dans la région du lac Missinaibi en 1933; et,

le vaste zone de tourbières et de marécages de Peterbell, qui sert d’habitat à un certain nombre d’espèces végétales intéressantes, aux oiseaux aquatiques, à l’original, à la loutre et à d’autres animaux sauvages.

Top Retour au début

Patrimoine culturel

Rivière Missinaibi - Photo

Histoire : Pendant une période de 140 ans couvrant le XVIIIe siècle et le début du XIXe, la rivière Missinaibi, reliée à la rivière Michipicoten qui coule dans le lac Supérieur et à la rivière Moose qui se jette dans la baie James, était l’une des plus importantes voies de transport servant à la traite des fourrures dans l'Ontario. Utilisée d’abord par les Indiens qui se rendaient faire la traite à Moose Factory sur les bords de la baie James, la Missinaibi a ensuite servi de route de transport pour les commerçants des deux compagnies de fourrure rivales, la Compagnie de la Baie d’Hudson et la Compagnie du Nord-Ouest. Ils contruisirent les postes de traite Wapiscogamy House (1776), et Missinaibi House (1777) sur le lac Missinaibi et à d’autres endroits sur le lac Brunswick, dont la construction a débuté à la même période que celle des postes rivaux, soit en 1789 et 1796, respectivement.

 

Le commerce des fourrures s’est poursuivi le long de la Missinaibi jusqu’en 1879 avec la construction du poste de traite de la New Brunswick House, qui a servi comme centre stratégique pour le commerce des fourrures pendant toute cette période. Les vestiges de la Missinaibi House, un poste de traite de la Compagnie de la Baie d’Hudson, sont un point d’attraction pour les archéologistes et les visiteurs.

 

Le commerce des fourrures déclina au début du XIXe siècle, lorsque la demande de fourrures, notamment celle du castor, chuta sur les marchés européens. Le parachèvement des chemins de fer du Canadien Pacifique, du Canadien National et la Canadian Northern, vers la fin des années 1800, a favorisé la naissance des villes et l’arrivée des colons. Plus récemment, la région a été développée par les industries minières et forestières dont les activités se poursuivent aujourd’hui.

 

Longtemps avant la découverte et le peuplement de la région par les Européens, la région du lac Missinaibi était habitée par des bandes de langue algonquine. Des peintures rupestres appelées «  pictographes » témoignent du passé préhistorique de la région. Le site de pictographes de Fairy Point sur le lac Missinaibi est considéré parmi les plus importants du nord de l’Ontario.

Top Retour au début

Valeurs récréatives

La voie navigable Missinaibi offre de belles occasions pour la pratique d’activités récréatives comme la navigation à voile et le canotage sur des lacs et en eaux vives, le camping, et l’observation et la photographie des animaux sauvages. La pêche aussi est excellente tant sur le lac que sur la rivière, où l’on y trouve le doré jaune et le grand brochet, l’esturgeon, l’achigan à petite bouche et l’omble de fontaine.

 

On peut pratiquer ces activités en se rendant au terrain de camping du parc provincial du lac Missinaibi, qui est accessible par une route en gravier de 88 km à partir de Chapleau. Cependant, l’accès étant limité, la rivière Missinaibi on y trouve trop peu d’installations et de services. Ces caractéristiques rehaussent l’attraction de la rivière pour les adeptes de la nature sauvage, mais limite son utilisation aux voyageurs chevronnés à la recherche d’expérience prolongée, quoique raisonnablement sécuritaire, de canotage et de camping en région sauvage.

Top Retour au début

Renseignements pour les visiteurs

Accès : La rivière est accessible par plusieurs points, selon la longueur de l’excursion que l’on veut faire. On peut se rendre au terrain de camping du parc provincial du lac Nissinaibi, où la rivière prend sa source, en empruntant la route 101 à partir de Chapleau. On peut aussi aller au village de Missanabie en prenant la route 651 en direction nord, à partir de la route 101. Les trains de passagers VIA Rail se dirigent trois fois par semaine vers le nord-ouest, en provenance de Capreol et traversent la rivière à Peterbell. La Ontario Northland Railway offfre un train quotidien qui relie Moosonee à Cochrane et qui traverse la rivière Mmmoose just en aval de son confluent avec la Missinaibi. Le dernier point de départ possible en aval de la rivière – accessible autrement que par train ou par vol nolisé – est le village de Mattice, sur la Transcanadienne.

 

Hébergement et services : Vu l’éloignement relatif de la région, l’hébergement et les services sont limités. Dans le village de Missinabie, on peut se loger à l’hôtel et s’approvisionner. On peut camper à Barclay Bay sur le lac Missinaibi. Mattice offre des services limités, et il est possible d’y trouver quelque hébergement pour la nuit. Les visiteurs sont priés de noter qu’il n’existe aucune installation de camping pour les canoteurs qui terminent leur voyage au pont de Moose River et qui attendent le train de Moosonee pour les ramener dans le sud. Toutefois, des services de vols aller-retour sont disponibles pour de courts voyages.

 

Canotage : Bien que les canoteurs expérimentés puissent descendre la Missinaibi au complet, la plupart d’entre eux n’en parcourent que les deux principaux tronçons : la haute Missinaibi, qui s’étend entre le village de Missanabie ou le parc provincial du lac Missinaibi jusqu’à Mattice, ce qui représente un parcours de 236 km, jalonné de 28 portages, qui se fait en 10 ou 12 jours; la basse Missinaibi, qui coule entre Mattice et Moosonee, en passant par Moose River, qui constitue un trajet de 320 km, interrompu par 7 à 10 portages, et qui demande entre 7 et 9 jours. On peut se procurer une description détaillée de ces itinéraires auprès du ministère ontarien des Richesses naturelles.

 

Les conditions de canotage sont bonnes de juin à septembre : les portages, clairement indiqués, sont de longueur et de difficulté variables et le niveau des eaux varie selon les saisons. Même si la pente moyenne de la rivière n’est que de 1m/km, seuls les canoteurs expérimentés devraient faire le voyage, puisque la rivière compte de nombreux tronçons difficiles, et des portages nombreux et éprouvants. Les eaux basses de la fin de l’été permettent l’ajout d’emplacements de camping en découvrant les rives et les bancs de sable, mai font aussi surgir des hauts-fonds rocheux que l’on doit traverser en marchant ou en portageant. Néanmoins, la Missinaibi offre aux canoteurs expérimentés ou experts l’occasion de mettre à l’épreuve leur adresse et leur habileté.

 

Cartes topographiques : Les cartes couvrant la région de la rivière Missinaibi à l’échelle de 1:250 000 dans le Système national de référence cartographique sont les suivantes : Foleyet (42 B), Kapuskasing (42 G), Smokey Falls (42 J), Moose River (42 I) et Moosanee (42 P). On peut les obtenir au Bureau des cartes du Canada, 615, rue Booth, Ottawa, K1A 0E9. Des nombreuses cartes topographiques à l’échelle de 1:50 000 sont aussi disponibles au Bureau des cartes du Canada. Le Centre d’information au public du ministère ontarien des Richesses naturelles de l’Ontario, Queen’s Park, Toronto peut aussi fournir quelques cartes topographiques spécialisées pour les excuirsions en canot sur toute la rivière Missinaibi à l’échelle de 1:100 000.

Top Retour au début

Autres renseignements

Parc provincial de la rivière Missinaibi – Permis, services et règlements : Ministère des Richesses naturelles de l’Ontario, Bureau du district de Champleau, 190-192 Cherry Street, Chapleau (Ontario)  P0M 1K0. Téléphone : (705) 864–1710, ou le Bureau du district de Kapuskasing, 6-8-10 Government Road, Kapuskasing (Ontario)  P5N 2W4. Tyéléphone : (705) 335–6191.

 

Informations touristiques – Hébergement et services aux visiteurs : Encyclopédie des voyageurs de l’Ontario, 1991 produit par Ontario Travel, Queen’s Park, Toronto (On)  M7A 2E5 (gratuit). Cochrane Timiskaming Travel Association, Box 1162, Timmins (Ontario), P4N 7K9; ou James Bay Frontier Travel Assoc., Suite ll9, lO1 Mall, Timmins (On)  T4N 7H9; Ontario Northland Polar Bear Express Train, 65 Front Street West, Toronto, ON  M5J 1P6. Téléphone : (416) 965–4268.

 

Réseau de rivières du patrimoine canadien : Gestionnaire national, Réseau de rivières du patrimoine canadien, Parcs Canada, Ottawa Canada  K1A 1G2; Téléphone : (819) 994–2913; Télécopieur : (819) 997–0835. Adresse électronique : donald.gibson@pc.gc.ca. ou, Représentant de l’Ontario à la Commission des rivières du patrimoine canadien, Directeur des zones récréatives et des parcs de l’Ontario, 99, rue Wellesley, ouest, Toronto (Ontario), M7A 1W3.

 

Pour un complément d'information sur cette rivière sauvage, visitez http://www.mnr.gov.on.ca/mnr/Parcs/miss.html et la Ontario Recreational Canoeing Association (www.orca.on.ca).

Top Retour au début

Lectures recommandées

Harrington, L. “Canoe Country”. Canadian Geographical Journal. Août, 1946.

 

Baldwin, D. & G. Taylor. “The Fur Trade in the Moose-Missinaibi River Valley: 1770-1917.” Research Report #8. Ont. Min. Culture & Recreation. 1975.

 

Newman, P. Company of Adventurers, 1985; Caesars of the Wilderness, 1987. Penguin Books.

 

Reid, R. J. Grand. “The Missinaibi”. In Canoeing Ontario's Rivers. Douglas and McIntyre. 1988.

 

Harting, T. “Looking at Light”. Nastawgan. Journal of the Wilderness Canoe Association. Printemps, 1989.

 

Reid, Ron. “Pictured Waters”. Seasons. Federation of Ontario Naturalists. Printemps, 1990.

 

Missinaibi: Journey to the Northern Sky, par Hap Wilson, Association canadienne du canotage récréatif, 1994. Ressource par excellence, ce guide de canotage décrit la voie de commerce entre le lac Supérieur et la baie James, le long des rivières Michipicoten et Missinaibi, et la situe dans son contexte historique.

Top Retour au début