CHRS page rivières English

Thames River

Thames River - Photo

Thames River downstream of London.


Top Geography

Top Natural Heritage

Top Human Heritage

Top Recreation

Top Visitor Information

Top Further Information

Top Additional Reading


Back to the Thames River Main Page

The Thames River watershed is nestled in the agricultural heartland of southwestern Ontario in close proximity to Lakes Huron, St. Clair and Erie. The river is 273 km long and drains some 5,825 square kilometres of land, making it the second largest watershed in southwestern Ontario. The river is easily accessible to the half million people who reside in its watershed.

 

The river’s long and rich cultural heritage and diverse recreational opportunities formed the basis for its designation to the Canadian Heritage Rivers System in 2000. The Thames River represents an important addition to the Canadian Heritage Rivers System by:

 

contributing a unique post-glacial landscape that contains ancient glacial spillways and terminal moraines, as well as younger channels carved from the flat clay and sand plains of old glacial lake beds;

showcasing 11,000 years of continuous occupancy by Canada’s aboriginal peoples;

featuring a rich history of European exploration and settlement that dates back to the 17th century, encompassing the fur trade, British exploration and early settlement, military battles, and intensive agricultural and urban settlement; and

offering a diversity of recreational opportunities including traditional uses of the river valley (fishing, hunting and trapping, boating, canoeing, rowing and hiking) and modern day celebrations of its multi-ethnic heritage.

Top Back to top

Geography

The Thames rises at three distinct points near Mitchell (North Thames), Hickson (Middle Thames) and Tavistock (South Thames). The Middle and South Thames join east of London and the North and South Branches meet at the Forks in London, the city’s most important historical landmark. From there, the river flows southwest passing through several communities including Chatham and four First Nations Reserves before it empties into Lake St. Clair at Lighthouse Cove.

 

The upper branches of the river flow through ancient glacial spillways that formed following the last glacial retreat. The river beds are rocky and the valley slopes are steep, with bluffs or terraces on at least one side. In contrast, the lower Thames carved its own shallow channel into the flat plains of clay and sand. Here, the river bed is soft and the water flow is gentle.

 

The majority (about 98%) of the Thames watershed is in private ownership with several parcels of publicly owned land scattered throughout.

Top Back to top

Natural Heritage

Thames River - Photo

Wingstem and tall coneflower growing along a sunny bank in Chatham.

The Thames watershed spans the Carolinian and Great Lakes-St. Lawrence floristic zones. Broad leaved, deciduous trees characterize the Carolinian Forest Region, one of the most biologically diverse regions in Canada. Carolinian trees such as sycamore, black walnut and hackberry grow along the Thames River valley. Numerous species of wildflowers, ferns and sedges occupy the forest floor. Some of the showy rarities include American ginseng, green dragon and wood poppy

.

The Thames sustains one of the most diverse fish communities in Canada. The watershed’s complex system provides a broad range of habitats for some 88 fish species. Walleye, longnose gar, bullheads, bass and Chinook salmon are just some of the species found here. Approximately 30 species of freshwater mussels are also recorded.

 

Thirty-six species of mammals have been recorded within the watershed including deer, coyotes, beaver and mink. Approximately 157 species of birds breed in the watershed including river users such as the great blue heron, belted kingfisher, and many species of waterfowl.

 

While the natural features of the watershed have been altered by human activities, especially the removal of the forests for agriculture and settlement, the river corridor remains largely unchanged. From a canoe, the mainly tree-lined Thames still appears much as it did 300 years ago.

Top Back to top

Human Heritage

Thames River - Photo

The Battle of the Thames is re-enacted annually at Chatham’s Heritage Days.

The Thames River watershed possesses an outstanding cultural heritage reflecting thousands of years of human settlement, conflict and development.

 

The Thames is the site of over 11,000 years of continuous occupancy by Canada’s Aboriginal Peoples. From the Paleo Indians to the present day, the river has been used for sustenance and settlement. The Thames watershed is the place where agriculture, derived from the Meso-Americans, first entered Canada sometime after 500 A.D.

 

Four distinct First Nations groups reside along the Thames: Chippewa, Moravian, Munsee Delaware and Oneida. Each was forced northward from their homelands in the United States after 1600.

 

The Thames River was one of the major theatres of the War of 1812. The legendary Shawnee Chief Tecumseh died at the Battle of Moraviantown. Subsequently, a peace treaty confirmed the Canadian-American border in what is now southwestern Ontario.

 

Pioneer farmers cleared much of the local forest for agriculture by the 1850s. The river served as an important access route for settlement, linking lake transport with road and later rail development.

 

Settlement was highly focussed on the Thames and its tributaries. Many early saw and grist mill complexes grew to become today’s large urban settlements (e.g. London, Chatham, Stratford).

 

The navigable section of the Thames below London allowed small crafts and barges to transport goods from London to Lake St. Clair. Chatham, just 31 km upstream of the lake, grew as a major ship building centre and inland port.

 

The Thames has been associated with people and events of Canadian significance:

 

Lt. Governor John Graves Simcoe visited the area between 1792 and 1795 and gave the river its current name;

John Carling and John Labatt founded successful breweries in London in 1843 and 1847 respectively; and

Fugitive American slaves travelled the ‘Underground Railway’ to settle near Chatham in the mid 19th Century.

The Thames also played a leading role in the history of Canadian conservation with the development of watershed-based Conservation Authorities.

Top Back to top

Recreation

The Thames River and its watershed support a great diversity of recreational activities.

 

The dams and reservoirs built for flood control (Fanshawe, Pittock, Wildwood) provide significant boating, sailing and fishing opportunities. The public land around these three reservoirs totals 70 square kilometers and is used for camping, picnicking and hiking.

 

There is a long history of boating on the river and there are several rowing and canoeing clubs throughout the watershed. Of note, the High Performance Rowing Centre at Fanshawe Reservoir trains Canada’s national and Olympic rowers. The London Canoe Club has the largest membership of any canoe club in North America. The Thames provides excellent scenic canoe travel with few difficult rapids.

 

Cruising is popular on the 31 km stretch from Chatham to Lighthouse Cove, with excellent docking facilities at Chatham and marinas at Lighthouse Cove. Boaters from Canadian and American ports frequent these facilities.

 

Fishing is a popular recreational activity along the entire Thames River and its many tributaries. Numerous docks and access points entice anglers to the river. For hikers, the 109 km long Thames Valley Trail extends from Delaware (west of London), northeast to St. Marys where it joins the Avon Trail which extends another 100 km and meets the Grand River Trail. The newly developed North Thames River Trail extends 14 km from Mitchell to Motherwell.

Top Back to top

Visitor Information

Thames River - Photo

Paddling down the Thames from the London Canoe Club in Springbank Park, London.

Visitor information services are provided at the larger towns and cities in the watershed including London, Stratford, Woodstock, and Chatham-Kent. For more information contact: Tourism London (519) 661-5000; www.londontourism.ca, Tourism Stratford (519) 273-3352; www.city.stratford.on.ca , Woodstock and District Chamber of Commerce (519) 539-9411, www.woodstockchamber.on.ca , or Chatham-Kent Tourist Bureau (519) 354-6125, www.ontournet.com/area_pages/area1.html

 

Cruising: Pleasure craft can berth at Lighthouse Cove on Lake St. Clair and dock in Chatham. For more information call: Cove Marina (519) 682-3841, Radlin’s Marina (519) 682-2706, or Chatham City Docks (519) 352-3888.

 

Canoeing: The Thames River upstream of Delaware offers over 100 km of scenic canoeing. Spring is the preferred season as water levels are generally too low in the summer. Class 1 rapids occur regularly. The reservoirs provide year-round canoeing. From Delaware to the mouth, the river is quieter and deeper and can be canoed throughout the summer. A brochure on canoe routes is available from the Upper Thames River Conservation Authority (519) 451-2800 www.thamesriver.on.caor the Lower Thames Valley Conservation Authority (519) 354-7310.

 

Thames Valley Trail: This 109 km valley trail can be accessed at numerous road crossings from Delaware to St. Marys. The Thames Valley Trail Guide is available at local book stores.

 

Camping: Overnight and seasonal campsites are available at Fanshawe Conservation Area (CA) in London, Wildwood CA in St. Marys and Pittock CA in Woodstock. Call (519) 451-2800 for more details. Private campgrounds are listed at local visitor centres.

 

Topographic Maps: The Thames River watershed is covered by 16 National Topographic Series maps at a scale of 1:50,000. The maps are: 40P/ 01,02,03,06,07,08; 40I/ 05,11,12,13,14,15; and 40J/ 01,02,07,08,09. They can be purchased from: Canada Map Office, 615 Booth St., Ottawa, K1A 0E9 http://maps.NRCan.gc.ca), or, OMNR Map Office, Whitney Block, Toronto, M7A 1W3.

Top Back to top

Further Information

The Canadian Heritage Rivers System:
The Secretary, Canadian Heritage Rivers Board,
c/o Parks Canada, Ottawa, Ontario, K1A 0M5.

 

The Upper Thames River Conservation Authority:
Tél. : (519) 451-2800
infoline@thamesriver.on.ca
www.thamesriver.on.ca

 

The Lower Thames River Conservation Authority:
Tél. : (519) 354-7310
www.lowerthames-conservation.on.ca
lowerthames@odyssey.on.ca

Top Back to top

Additional Reading

The Thames River Watershed: A Background Study for Nomination under the Canadian Heritage Rivers System. 1998.

The Thames Strategy: Managing the Thames as a Canadian Heritage River, 2000.

Both reports are available from the Upper Thames River Conservation Authority.

Top Back to top

CHRS page rivières Français

Rivière Thames

Rivière Thames - Photo

Top Géographie

Top Patrimoine naturel

Top Patrimoine culturel

Top Valeurs récréatives

Top Renseignements
pour les visiteurs

Top Autres renseignements

Top Lectures recommandées


Retour à la page principale de la rivière
Thames

Le bassin hydrographique de la rivière Thames niche au coeur agricole du sud-ouest ontarien, à proximité immédiate des lacs Huron, Sainte-Claire et Érié. La rivière, d’une longueur de 273 km, draine quelque 5 825 kilomètres carrés de terres, ce qui en fait le deuxième bassin hydrographique en importance du sud-ouest de l’Ontario. La rivière est aisément accessible au demi-million de résidents du bassin.

 

Le long et riche patrimoine culturel de la rivière et ses possibilités récréatives diversifiées ont constitué le fondement de son inclusion dans le Réseau de rivières du patrimoine canadien, en l’an 2000. La Thames représente un ajout important au Réseau pour les raisons suivantes

 

elle offre un paysage postglaciaire unique qui contient d’anciens déversoirs de lacs glaciaires et des moraines terminales, ainsi que des chenaux plus jeunes creusés à travers les plaines d’argile et de sable issues d’anciens lits de lacs glaciaires;

elle illustre 11 000 années d’occupation continue par les peuples autochtones du Canada;

elle met en valeur une riche histoire d’exploration et de peuplement européens remontant au XVIIe siècle qui englobe la pelleterie, l’exploration et le peuplement britanniques originaux, les batailles, ainsi que la colonisation rurale et les établissements urbains intensifs; et

elle offre une grande variété de possibilités récréatives, y compris les usages traditionnels de la vallée fluviale (pêche, chasse et piégeage, navigation de plaisance, canoë-kayak, aviron et randonnée pédestre), ainsi que les célébrations contemporaines de son patrimoine multi-ethnique.

Géographie

La Thames naît en trois endroits distincts près de Mitchell (Thames-Nord), Hickson (Thames moyenne) et Tavistock (Thames-Sud). Les Thames moyenne et Sud se rejoignent à l’est de London et les bras nord et sud se rencontrent aux « Forks », à London, le site historique le plus important de la ville. De là, la rivière s’écoule vers le sud-ouest, traversant plusieurs agglomérations, dont Chatham, et quatre réserves des Premières Nations, avant de se jeter dans le lac Sainte-Claire à Lighthouse Cove.

 

Les embranchements supérieurs de la rivière traversent d’anciens déversoirs glaciaires formés à la suite du dernier retrait glaciaire. Le lit des cours d’eau est rocailleux et les flancs de la vallée sont escarpés, avec des versants abrupts ou des terrasses sur au moins un côté. Par contraste, la Thames inférieure a découpé son propre chenal peu profond dans les plaines d’argile et de sable. Là, le lit de la rivière est doux et le débit est calme.

 

La plus grande partie (environ 98 %) du bassin hydrographique de la Thames appartient à des intérêts privés, avec plusieurs parcelles de terrains publics dispersées ici et là.

Top Retour au début

Patrimoine naturel

Rivière Thames - Photo

Verbesina et rudbeckie laciniée poussant le long d’une rive ensoleillée à Chatham.

 

Le bassin hydrographique de la Thames traverse les zones floristiques carolinienne, des Grands Lacs et du Saint-Laurent. La forêt carolinienne, l’une des régions du Canada possédant la plus grande diversité biologique, se caractérise par des arbres à larges feuilles caduques. Des arbres caroliniens tels que l’érable sycomore, le noyer noir et le micocoulier occidental croissent dans la vallée de la Thames. De nombreuses espèces de fleurs sauvages, de fougères et de carex occupent le sol de la forêt. Au nombre des espèces rares remarquables, on peut citer le ginseng d’Amérique, le dragon vert et le stylophore à deux feuilles.

 

La Thames maintient l’une des communautés halieutiques les plus diverses du Canada. Le réseau fluvial complexe de sources, de dépressions, de coulées, de ruisseaux et de rivières interconnectés fournit une vaste gamme d’habitats à quelque 88 espèces de poissons, entre autres le doré jaune, le lépisosté osseux, la barbotte, l’achigan et le saumon quinnat. On y a également dénombré une trentaine d’espèce d’anodontes.

 

Trente-six espèces de mammifères ont été relevées dans le bassin hydrographique, notamment le chevreuil, le coyote, le castor et le vison. Environ 157 espèces d’oiseaux nichent dans le bassin, y compris des piscivores tels que le grand héron et le martin-pêcheur d’Amérique, ainsi que de nombreuses espèces de sauvagine.

 

Même si les caractéristiques naturelles du bassin hydrographique ont été modifiées par les activités humaines, particulièrement le défrichement des forêts au profit de l’agriculture et du peuplement, le couloir fluvial demeure essentiellement intact. Vue depuis un canoë, la Thames, le plus souvent bordée d’arbres, se présente sous un aspect qui n’a bas beaucoup changé en 300 ans.

Top Retour au début

Patrimoine culturel

Rivière Thames - Photo

La Bataille de la Thames est reconstituée chaque année à l’occasion de la Fête du patrimoine de Chatham.

 

Le bassin hydrographique de la Thames possède un patrimoine culturel exceptionnel, qui reflète 11 000 ans d’établissement humain, de conflits et de développement.

 

La Thames a été témoin de plus de 11 000 années d’occu-pation continue par les peuples autochtones du Canada. De l’époque paléo-indienne jusqu’à nos jours, la rivière a servi à la subsistance et au peuplement. Le bassin hydrographique de la Thames est le lieu où l’agriculture, empruntée à la civilisation méso-américaine, a pénétré au Canada, un peu après l’an 500 après Jésus-Christ.

 

Quatre groupes de Premières Nations distincts résident le long de la Thames : Chippewa, Morave, Munsee-Delaware et Oneida. Tous avaient été forcés de quitter les États-Unis et de fuir vers le nord après 1600.

 

La Thames fut l’un des principaux théâtres d’opérations de la guerre de 1812. Le légendaire chef shawnie Tecumseh périt à la bataille de Moraviantown. Par la suite, un traité de paix ratifia la frontière canado-américaine dans ce qui est aujourd’hui le sud-ouest de l’Ontario.

 

Vers les années 1850, les colons avaient défriché une bonne partie de la forêt locale au profit de l’agriculture. La rivière constitua une voie d’accès importante pour le peuplement, reliant le transport lacustre au développement des routes et, plus tard, à celui du chemin de fer.

 

Le peuplement était hautement axé sur la Thames et ses affluents. Beaucoup des premières scieries et des premiers moulins à provende se développèrent pour devenir les grands établissements urbains d’aujourd’hui (p. ex., London, Chatham et Stratford).

 

La portion navigable de la Thames, en aval de London, permettait aux petites embarcations et aux péniches de transporter des marchandises de London au lac Sainte-Claire. Chatham, située à 31 km seulement en aval du lac, devint un important centre de construction navale et port intérieur.

 

La Thames a été associée à des personnages et des événements importants pour le Canada :

 

Le lieutenant-gouverneur John Graves Simcoe visita la région entre 1792 et 1795 et donna son nom actuel à la rivière;
John Carling et John Labatt fondèrent des brasseries renommées à London en 1843 et 1847 respectivement;
Des esclaves américains en fuite empruntèrent le chemin de fer clandestin pour venir s’établir près de Chatham, au milieu du XIXe siècle.

La Thames a également joué un rôle de premier plan dans l’histoire de la conservation au Canada, avec l’établissement des Offices de protection des bassins hydrographiques.

Top Retour au début

Valeurs récréatives

La Thames et son bassin alimentent une grande diversité d’activités de loisirs et de sports.

 

Les barrages et réservoirs construits pour lutter contre les inondations (Fanshawe, Pittock, Wildwood) sont tout indiqués pour les amateurs de navigation de plaisance, de voile et de pêche. Les terres publiques entourant ces réservoirs s’étendent sur 70 kilomètres carrés et sont utilisées pour le camping, les pique-niques et la randonnée pédestre.

 

La navigation se pratique depuis toujours sur la rivière et le bassin hydrographique compte plusieurs clubs d’aviron et de canoë-kayak. Soulignons que le High Performance Rowing Centre, au réservoir de Fanshawe, entraîne les rameurs nationaux et olympiques canadiens. Le London Canoe Club compte le plus grand nombre de membres de tous les clubs de canotage d’Amérique du Nord. La Thames permet d’excellentes activités de canotage panoramique, avec peu de rapides difficiles à négocier.

 

Partir en croisière est très populaire sur le tronçon de 31 km reliant Chatham à Lighthouse Cove, avec d’excellentes installations d’amarrage à Chatham et marinas à Lighthouse Cove. Ces installations sont fréquentées par des plaisanciers venant de ports canadiens autant qu’américains.

 

La pêche est une activité sportive très populaire sur toute la longueur de la Thames et ses nombreux affluents. De nombreux quais et points d’accès attirent les pêcheurs à la ligne sur les lieux. Pour les randonneurs pédestres, le Thames Valley Trail, d’une longueur de 109 km, s’étend de Delaware, (à l’ouest de London) vers le nord-est jusqu’à St. Marys, où il rejoint le Avon Trail, qui serpente sur 100 km avant de rejoindre à son tour le Grand River Trail. Le North Thames River Trail, récemment créé, s’étend sur 14 km de Mitchell à Motherwell.

Top Retour au début

Renseignements pour les visiteurs

Rivière Thames - Photo

Descente de la Thames à la pagaie depuis le London Canoe Club, à Springbank Park, London.

Des services d’information touristique sont fournis dans les agglomérations importantes du bassin hydrographique (London, Stratford, Woodstock et Chatham-Kent). Pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements, veuillez appeler : Tourism London (519) 661-5000, www.londontourism.ca; Tourism Stratford (519) 273-3352, www.city.stratford.on.ca; Woodstock et District Chamber of Commerce (519) 539-9411,www.woodstockchamber.on.ca; ou Chatham-Kent Tourist Bureau (519) 354-6125, www.ontournet.com/area_pages/area1.html

 

Croisière : Les bateaux de plaisance peuvent mouiller à Lighthouse Cove, sur le lac Sainte-Claire, et accoster à Chatham. Pour de plus amples renseignements, appeler : Cove Marina (519) 682-3841, Radlin’s Marina (519) 682-2706, ou Chatham Cit Docks (519) 352-3888.

 

Canoë-kayak : La Thames, en amont de Delaware, offre plus de 100 km de canoë-kayak panoramique. Le printemps est la meilleure saison, le niveau de l’eau étant généralement trop bas en été. Des rapides de catégorie 1 se présentent régulièrement. Les réservoirs permettent la pratique de ce sport durant toute l’année. De Delaware à l’embouchure, la rivière est plus calme et plus profonde et peut être négociée en canoë-kayak durant tout l’été. On peut se procurer une brochure sur les trajets de canotage auprès de la Upper Thames River Conservation Authority (519) 451-2800, www.thamesriver.on.ca , ou de la Lower Thames Valley Conservation Authority (519) 354-7310 , www.lowerthames-conservation.on.ca.

 

Thames Valley Trail : On peut accéder à ce sentier de la vallée de 109 km à partir de nombreuses traversées routières entre Delaware et St. Marys. Le Thames Valley Trail Guide est offert dans les librairies locales.

 

Camping : Il existe des terrains de camping saisonniers et de nuit dans l’aire de conservation (AC) de Fanshawe à London, l’AC de Wildwood à St. Marys et l’AC de Pittock à Woodstock. On peut obtenir plus de détails en appelant au numéro (519) 451-2800. Les terrains de camping privés sont indiqués dans les centres d’accueil locaux.

 

Cartes topographiques : Le bassin hydrographique de la Thames est couvert par 16 cartes de la Série nationale de référence topographique à échelle au 1:50 000. Ce sont les cartes 40P/01, 02, 03, 06, 07, 08; 40I/05, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15; et 40J/01, 02, 07, 08, 09. On peut les acheter au Bureau des cartes du Canada, 615, rue Booth, Ottawa, K1A 0E9, ou au Bureau des cartes du MRNO, Whitney Block, Toronto, M7A 1W3.

Top Retour au début

Autres renseignements

Réseau de rivières du patrimoine canadien :
Secrétaire, Commission des rivières du patrimoine canadien,
a/s du Service canadien des parcs, Ottawa, Ontario, K1A 0M5.

 

The Upper Thames River Conservation Authority:
Tél. : (519) 451-2800
infoline@thamesriver.on.ca
www.thamesriver.on.ca

 

The Lower Thames River Conservation Authority:
Tél. : (519) 354-7310
www.lowerthames-conservation.on.ca
lowerthames@odyssey.on.ca

Top Retour au début

Lectures recommandées

The Thames River Watershed: A Background Study for Nomination under the Canadian Heritage Rivers System, 1998.

The Thames Strategy: Managing the Thames as a Canadian Heritage River, 2000.

On peut se procurer ces deux rapports auprès de la Upper Thames River Conservation Authority

Top Retour au début