CHRS Home page Englais

About the Canadian Heritage Rivers System

Mandate

The Canadian Heritage Rivers System (CHRS) was established in 1984 by federal, provincial and territorial governments to conserve rivers with outstanding natural, cultural and recreational heritage, to give them national recognition, and to encourage the public to enjoy and appreciate them.

Today, there are 42 Canadian Heritage Rivers (38 designated, and another 4 nominated) across Canada, and more are being added to the system each year. View a map of the system or visit our photo gallery.

 

Legislation

No new legislation is created when a river is designated to the CHRS. All protective actions on Canadian Heritage Rivers depend on existing laws and regulations, and respect the rights of Aboriginal peoples, communities, private landowners, and other stakeholders.

Governments retain their jurisdictional powers and management responsibilities throughout the nomination and designation process.

 

Reporting

Each year, the CHRS Secretariat publishes an annual report on the System. The report includes information on program activities (conferences, studies, upcoming nominations and designations, etc.) and on the state of the rivers. This information is provided by planners and river managers across the country.

Rivers designated to the CHRS undergo reviews every ten years. In-depth monitoring reports are produced detailing the state of the riversí heritage values.

 

10-year reports available online include:

Athabasca River Monitoring Report 2011 (covers 1999-2010; Parks Canada)
The Shelburne River (1997-2007)  (Nova Scotia)
The Fraser River (1998-2008) (British Columbia)
The Bonnet Plume River (1997-2007) (Yukon)
The Grand River (1994-2004) (Ontario)
The Thirty Mile (Yukon River) 1990-2002 (Yukon)

Read more about how to nominate and designate a river or about how the CHRS program is administered.

CHRS Home page Englais

À propos du réseau des rivières du patrimoine canadien

Mandat

Le Réseau des rivières du patrimoine canadien (RRPC) a été créé en 1984 par le gouvernement fédéral, les provinces et les territoires pour veiller à la conservation des rivières présentant un patrimoine naturel, culturel et récréatif exceptionnel et faire en sorte qu’elles soient reconnues à l’échelle nationale. Le réseau incite également le public à profiter de leurs attraits et à en apprécier la valeur.

Aujourd’hui, il existe 42 rivières du patrimoine canadien (38 d’entre elles ont été désignées, et 4 autres ont été mises en candidature). De plus, de nouvelles rivières s’ajoutent chaque année. Vous pouvez consulter une carte du réseau, ou visitez notre galerie de photos.

 

Législation

Aucune disposition législative n’est créée lorsqu’une rivière est ajoutée au RRPC. Toutes les mesures de protection appliquées aux rivières du patrimoine canadien dépendent des lois et des règlements en vigueur, et respectent les droits des Autochtones, des collectivités, des propriétaires fonciers privés et des autres intervenants.

Pendant le processus de mise en candidature et de désignation, les gouvernements conservent leurs compétences et leurs responsabilités en matière de gestion.

 

Production de rapports

Chaque année, le secrétariat du RRPC publie un rapport annuel sur le réseau. Ce rapport comprend des renseignements sur les activités de programme (conférences, études, mises en candidature et désignations à venir, etc.) et sur l’état des rivières. L’information à cet égard est fournie par des planificateurs et des gestionnaires de rivière travaillant un peu partout au pays.

Les rivières inscrites au RRPC font l’objet d’un examen tous les dix ans. Les rapports de surveillance exhaustifs qui sont rédigés à cette occasion décrivent en détail leur situation patrimoniale.

 

Voici quelques-uns des rapports décennaux mis en ligne :

Rapport de surveillance de la rivière Athabasca 2011 (Parcs Canada, période couverte 1999-2010)
Rivière Shelburne (1997-2007) (Nouvelle-Écosse)
Fleuve Fraser (1998-2008) (Colombie-Britannique)
Rivière Bonnet Plume (1997-2007) (Yukon)
Rivière Grand (1994-2004) (Ontario)
Tronçon Thirty Mile du fleuve Yukon (1990-2002) (Yukon)

 

Apprenez-en davantage sur la façon de mettre en candidature et de désigner une rivière, ou sur la manière dont le programme du RRPC est administré.