CHRS nomination page Englais

How are Rivers Nominated and Designated to the CHRS?

To be considered for inclusion in the Canadian Heritage River System (CHRS), a river must have:

  • outstanding natural, cultural and/or recreational values, and  
  • a high level of public support.

Measures must also be put in place to protect the values for which the river is nominated.  

The two-level process for a river to become part of the CHRS is described below.

 

The Nomination Process

Step 1: Inquiry
The nomination process usually starts at the local level with an inquiry to a Board member or the CHRS Secretariat regarding commemorating and protecting a river for its heritage values.

This first step is important, as your Board member will tell you whether your river is a viable candidate for the CHRS. A 2010 National Gap Analysis identified priority candidate rivers for completing the System by 2018 – an objective outlined in the 2008-2018 Strategic Plan.

 

Step 2: Research
The next step is to obtain the selection and integrity guidelines for rivers from the CHRS Secretariat and to consult the natural and cultural values framework documents, which define the natural and historic elements of river heritage for which rivers can be nominated to the System.

 

Step 3: Background Study
If it is determined that your river merits further consideration for CHRS status, the next step is the preparation of a background study detailing and assessing the river’s natural, cultural/historical, recreational and economic values, as well as community support for the nomination and the river’s suitability for management as a Canadian Heritage River. Financial support may be available for the production of this study.

 

Step 4: Producing Nomination Documents
A standard nomination document must be prepared and submitted to the CHRS Technical Planning Committee for review and comment. Once this review has been completed, nominations can be submitted to the Board at the next annual meeting.

 

Step 5: Review and Approval
The Board reviews the nomination documents at the annual meeting, and, if the river meets selection guidelines for the System, the Board makes a recommendation to the appropriate provincial/territorial Minister, who must officially approve the nomination, and to the Minister responsible for Parks Canada (the Minister of Environment Canada).

 

The Designation Process

Step 1: Producing a Heritage Strategy/Management Plan
A nominated river can be designated once a heritage strategy or management plan describing how the river will be managed to conserve its outstanding natural, cultural and/or recreational values is lodged with the Board. Production of the heritage strategy is based on public consultation and consensus.

 

Step 2: Review and Approval
Once the Board has completed its review of the heritage strategy, it notifies the appropriate provincial/territorial Minister and the Minister of Environment Canada of its recommendation to designate the river to the CHRS. The Minister of Environment Canada is responsible for the final decision to designate all Canadian Heritage Rivers.

For more information on the nomination and designation process, consult the CHRS publication Your River...Your Heritage...Your Future.

CHRS nomination page Français

Quels sonts les processus de mise en candidature et de désignation du RRPC?

Pour faire partie du Réseau des rivières du patrimoine canadien (RRPC), une rivière doit respecter les critères suivants :

  • valeurs naturelles, culturelles et récréatives exceptionnelles;
  • appui communautaire solide.

Des mesures doivent aussi être mises en place pour protéger les valeurs qui permettent de présenter la candidature d’une rivière.

Le processus en deux temps de désignation d’une rivière par le RRPC est décrit ci-dessous.

 

Processus de mise en candidature

Étape 1: Demande

Le processus de mise en candidature commence habituellement par le dépôt d’une demande de renseignements, de la part de membres de la collectivité, auprès des membres de la Commission des rivières du patrimoine canadien (CRPC) ou de son Secrétariat en vue de commémorer et de protéger les valeurs patrimoniales d’une rivière.

Cette première étape est importante, parce que c’est à ce moment que les membres de la Commission déterminent si la rivière est une bonne candidate au RRPC. L’analyse nationale des lacunes de 2010 a permis de cibler les rivières qui pouvaient contribuer à compléter le réseau d’ici 2018, un objectif du plan stratégique 2008-2018.

 

Étape 2: Recherche
La deuxième étape consiste à déterminer si la rivière correspond aux lignes directrices en matière de sélection et d’intégrité des rivières et à consulter les cadres des valeurs naturelles et culturelles, dans lesquels sont présentés les éléments naturels et culturels qui permettent la mise en candidature d’une rivière du patrimoine en vue de sa désignation.

 

Étape 3: Étude préliminaire
Si les membres de la Commission déterminent que la rivière est une bonne candidate, il faut alors préparer une étude préliminaire détaillée qui présente les valeurs naturelles, culturelles, historiques, récréatives et économiques de la rivière, en plus de l’appui de la collectivité et de la pertinence de l’intégration de la rivière au réseau. Il est possible d’obtenir du financement pour la production de cette étude.

 

Étape 4: Rédaction de la documentation de mise en candidature
Un document officiel de mise en candidature doit être rédigé et présenté au comité de planification technique du RRPC, qui l’examine et le commente. Une fois cette étape terminée, la candidature peut être présentée à la Commission lors de sa prochaine réunion annuelle.

 

Étape 5: Examen et approbation
La Commission étudie la documentation à sa réunion annuelle et, si la rivière respecte les critères de sélection du réseau, en recommande la désignation au ministre provincial ou territorial approprié, qui doit approuver officiellement sa mise en candidature. La demande est aussi présentée au ministre responsable de Parcs Canada (ministre de l’Environnement du Canada).

 

Processus de désignation

Étape 1: Rédaction d’un plan de gestion et d’une stratégie de conservation
Avant que la rivière n’obtienne sa désignation, un plan de gestion ou une stratégie de conservation du patrimoine doit être présenté à la Commission pour décrire la façon dont sera gérée la rivière pour en conserver les valeurs naturelles, culturelles et récréatives exceptionnelles. La rédaction de la stratégie de conservation du patrimoine doit s’appuyer sur une consultation publique, et la mise en candidature de la rivière doit faire consensus.

 

Étape 2: Examen et approbation
Une fois que la Commission a examiné la stratégie de conservation du patrimoine, elle recommande la désignation de la rivière au ministre provincial ou territorial approprié et au ministre de l’Environnement du Canada, qui prend la décision finale concernant toutes les rivières du patrimoine du Canada.

Pour obtenir plus de renseignements sur les processus de mise en candidature et de désignation, consultez la publication du RRCP intitulée Votre rivière… Votre patrimoine… Votre avenir.